Orange Julius (Semi-Copy Cat)

Orange JuliuswWMA few nights ago I finally opened up the bag of frozen blueberries I had put in the refrigerator to thaw a while back. I had intended to make smoothies with them but just never got to it. Then I had a sudden craving for an orange julius drink. Only problem is that we don’t have anywhere local to go get an orange julius drink from. In fact the closest place is an almost 500 mile drive from my house. Not really feasible to just sent HD out on a quick run for one.

 

 

Orange Juliusw1WMThis is where one of my favorite Christmas presents comes in. My mommy has given me a couple of cookbooks over the years. All handmade of course and filled with family recipes. In one of these books is a “copy cat” recipe for an orange julius drink. There is a taste difference but its close enough to work in a pinch. This time around we decided to try adding the blueberries to the drink and see how it turned out! Below you will find the original recipe from my mommy.

 

Orange Juliusw2WMIngredients

  • 3 oz. frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 6 – 8 ice cubes
  • ½ t vanilla
  • ½ c milk
  • ½ c water
  • 2 T sugar ( I used a pinch of raw stevia)

 

 

DirectionsOrange Juliusw3WM

Combine all ingredients in blender until smooth.

Serve immediately.

 

Leave a Reply

