Autism: Service Dog Fundraising

I have shared about our decision to pursue a service dog for Big M. Once we made the decision and got all the paperwork submitted I got a phone call from the wonder Karen Shirk. She talked to me a little bit more about our concerns and then told me that we qualified for a service dog and could start fundraising as soon as we received our packet in the mail.

HD and I were beyond thrilled. This started a journey for our family. We didn’t know how long it would take. Some families reported being done a matter of months while others took several years. As I started talking to close family and friends about our goal I was quickly discouraged. I had everyone telling me that it was too much money. We were never going to be able to raise that much. I even had some outright laugh at me and refuse to help us raise the money needed.

We had some very supportive friends who helped to set up a half dozen fundraisers. Out of all the fundraisers I had one turn out successful. We had started fundraising in October. By January I was completely discouraged. I had been attacked after a post in the newspaper. We had one more fundraiser coming up. I had a company generously donate goods to be sold at our event. Our family was deeply humbled at that event when we raised nearly $1,000 in that one afternoon.

Since then we have hit a wall. Not only have we hit a wall fundraising but Big M has started showing some regression. Because of this regression HD and I sat down and critically looked at things. Big M needs this additional help. He needs it in a big way. The regression has been emotionally and behaviorally. So we decided to rearrange finances and save up so that we could put up a little more money towards this fundraising goal.

When I emailed 4 Paws for Ability to find out where we were stood financially I got the best gift a Monday could deliver. I found out that we were just shy of half way to our goal of $13,000. Coupled with the money that we have set aside this means that we need just $3000 more to be able to get a class date to get Big M his service dog. I have launched a $20 drive. We are asking for just a $20 donation to 4 Paws in honor of our son. The donations truly do add up and we will be there in no time!

I encourage everyone to share our story and take a look at the stories of others who are currently in our shoes. Please help us to spread the awareness of just how much good service dogs can do for kids!

Leave a Reply

