Essential Oil Debate: Mountain Rose Herbs

Box Logo
Box Logo

One of the companies I felt the need to look into and test out their products was Mountain Rose Herbs. I checked out their website and was impressed with the information they provided concerning the essential oils. Right away they tell you the common name, Latin name, origin of plant, and whether the plant is organic or wild harvested. If you are looking for more information you can click and find out a wealth of information concerning the oil. They do include some safety information and tend to be pretty conservative in their recommendations. They also tell you to not use internally unless supervised or under the care of a licensed practitioner. This does not bother me and seems to be a reasonable recommendation.  Please do some research for yourself and decide what is most important to you and go with your gut feeling. Mommy guts can be pretty reliable.

I went ahead and order from Mountain Rose Herbs. The best way to know what company would be best for my family is to try them out! The shopping cart online was easy to use and would update shipping costs as I added items to my cart after I had input the shipping address. Checking out was quick and painless and I got a confirmation e-mail right away. I love their turn around time as well. They say that within 2 business days your order will be shipped. After a few days had passed and I had not received a shipped e-mail with a tracking number I found them on Facebook.  A quick post on their wall asking if they send out shipping confirmation was answered right away. They do indeed send out tracking numbers. So I sent an e-mail to the customer service e-mail when another couple days passed with no e-mail.

Box just opened.
Box just opened.
Informational flyers and booklet
Informational flyers and booklet
Two packages wrapped up. On the left was salve jars and the rights all the EOs.
Two packages wrapped up. On the left was salve jars and the rights all the EOs.
The packaging the rolls sat on.
The packaging the rolls sat on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is where I am most impressed with them thus

The roll of EOs unrolled
The roll of EOs unrolled

far. They replied the next day with not only letting me know that the box had indeed shipped but they had taken the liberty of following up with the package to see where it was. They saw that the package had been delivered and offered numerous recommendations of where the package could possibly be. Further I was informed that if after looking for the package in all possible locations I still could not find the box they would submit an inquiry with UPS to find out what had happened to my box. Sure enough, there was an amazing box sitting in my front door! This means that it was less than a week, including a weekend, from order placed to box sitting on my doorstep.

When I opened the box it  was very well packed with no strong odors. This meant that my bottles were safe and nothing had leaked. Many fragrances give off such

The different labels on my bottles.
The different labels on my bottles.

a strong smell that you can smell it as soon as the box is opened so I was glad that I couldn’t smell anything. A person would never have known that there were oils in there. My only concern with the packaging was that the bottles were laying against each other with not even a piece of tissue in between them. They were so well packed in the box that this may not be necessary but personally I like to stick something in between glass bottles regardless.

Various warnings and information on the bottles
Various warnings and information on the bottles

 

The labels were missing some information you are told to look for but the information can all be found on the website. Latin names were included on the bottle to prevent confusion of EO’s. Warnings on bottle were included on every single bottle and contained added info depending on the EO. The bottles were sealed like a twist top milk jug and once opened the sizes that I ordered had drip tops for easy dispensing by drops. I did end up with rather large bottles of some EO’s because I just didn’t realize how big of a bottle it would be. I knew it would be large but I was still surprised by how large the bottles were.

The drop tip
The drop tip

 

 

So far I am very pleased with Mountain Rose Herbs. I have smelled most of the oils I purchased through them but can’t really comment on the smells until I can compare them to the other companies.

Leave a Reply

