Essential Oil Debate: Native American Nutritionals

The second company that I ordered from was Native American Nutritionals. After reading a couple other pieces on them I decided that they were worth a shot. The company page was well laid out and easy to use and they seemed to be pretty transparent in where things came from and what different oils did. They are also good with their warnings and when to not use specific oils.  The ordering process was quick and painless. I loved the ability to see shipping estimates before getting very far in the check out process and received immediate e-mail confirmation of my order being placed.

NAN box it shipped in
NAN box it shipped in
Inside the box
Inside the box

 

NAN did have a wider variety of shipping options and my order of almost a dozen oils and some roll on applicators came in a USPS small flat rate box. YAY for cheap and fast shipping finally! I excitedly tore open the box and was assualted by smells. We never did identify what we were smelling and it probably was a combination of oils but we also never found any evidence of a bottle leaking. There were no broken bottles either. All seals were in tact. The bottles were wrapped in foam paper and taped shut. In fact they were so well taped that I had problems getting into the package to get the oils out!

The EO package
The EO package
All the oils I ordered
All the oils I ordered

 

 

These bottles are labeled with Rocky Mountain labels but that is from RM and NAN combining. The NAN labels just didn’t win over I supppose. You can see in the pictures that they do list the latin name, common name, a general warning statement and in some cases the location for the oil. Anything the label is lacking can be found on the website but it would be nice to have on the label for easy and quick reference.

One view of the NAN label
One view of the NAN label
Other side of the NAN label
Other side of the NAN label

 

The strength of the oils didn’t seem to be any different from the previous company I had ordered from. The same oils between them smelled similar with the exception of the Frankincense. The most likely cause of that one? The location the oil is from. One company gets theirs from France while NAN gets theirs from three other locations. The location I selected when making my purchase from NAN was Somalia.  As before some oils smelled more like earthy oils and others did not.

Comparing the two companies. I did order different sizes from the two companies.
Comparing the two companies. I did order different sizes from the two companies.

Overall I have been very pleased with their product thus far. I received a shipping e-mail and confirmations. Everything in my order was correct. I can not judge on the customer service contacts as I have not had a reason to contact them!

Comparison of the bigger bottle to the NAN bottle
Comparison of the bigger bottle to the NAN bottle

Watch for a post where I sniff tested between several different brands and give my final thoughts on the oils.

 

 

Leave a Reply

