Conchas

It is amazing what volunteering to host a traveling party stop will lead to you finding. This party ended up with a Mexican theme and I ended up with deserts. I didn’t want to do sopapilla cheesecake or churro something or other. I wanted one that would be a little more Mexican than that. Fried ice cream didn’t sound like something I wanted to tackle so I kept searching. We came up with a pastry called Concha. It seemed to be pretty easy during my quick read through and I had all the ingredients needed. My mind was made up! I would attempt this sweet bread recipe. I got my recipe from Pati’s Mexican Table and it is a tasty one!

Mixing up the dough
Mixing up the dough

I made up the dough and then hit the killer part. It was supposed to rise 2-8 hours. My party started in 2 hours. If I was going to finish this sweet bread then I would have to miss the rest of the party. To me that was not an option. I needed the Mom’s night out that included being away from those with testosterone for majority of the night. So I pushed it aside to rise and pulled out the ingredients for my back up option.

Set to rise
Set to rise

My party ended up running late and I wasn’t able to bake up the sweet bread that night. Which resulted in the dough rising for too long and being a little bit dry on top. The next evening I went ahead and baked them up anyways hoping they would still turn out. While baking them up I saw that they were supposed to rise again on the pans. I skipped that part as they had already been left to rise too long at this point. They turned out a little dense but actually not too bad. I think next time around they will be amazing as long as I follow the instructions a little closer. I did make some regular and some chocolate and the chocolate ones are by far our favorites.

Chocolate sugar topping
Chocolate sugar topping

Try it out and let me know what you think! Oh and no I did not put the lines in to make them look like shells. By the time these were to that point I was just ready to be done with it all. NOTE: use a rimmed baking pan and not one like I used. We did end up with a small grease fire that we had to put out before we could finish baking them. Thankfully I was right there in the kitchen and saw it right away.

Top corner is a non-chocolate covered one.
Top corner is a non-chocolate covered one.
Leave a Reply

