Tres Leches Cake

Eggs at the start
Eggs at the start

What do you do when you have a party in 2 hours and you realize that your originally planned desert is going to take 12 hours or more to make? Well my fall back is the amazing Pioneer Women. I love watching her on the Food Network and reading her blog and recipes as well. I have tried several of her recipes before and have yet to find one that we didn’t like. This party had a theme, Mexican travel dinner. I needed to find a Mexican desert since my house was the last stop on the menu.

 

Egg yolks at the end
Egg yolks at the end

 

I ended up with Tres Leches cake and HD made a run to the store for me while I started the batter for this amazing cake. It was perfect because the finishing touch could be done right when we got to my house and soak in while they let dinner settle.

 

Egg whites at the end
Egg whites at the end

 

Pioneer Woman does amazing with all her pictures and I encourage you to go check out her post about this cake for the pictures if nothing else. Don’t forget to click around and share some love while you’re at it! She is a truly amazing person.

 

 

Batter before egg whites
Batter before egg whites

 

 

The days leading up to having this party were loaded with cleaning house, other commitments, Big M having bad days, cleaning house and just flat out trying to maintain my sanity. This led to me not having all the ingredients needed for everything and not realizing that things took longer than expected to prep and cook. Have you ever had days or weeks like that?

 

 

Mixing in the egg whites
Mixing in the egg whites

 

In the end the cake turned out pretty good. Next time I might add cinnamon to the milk and try out the cherry idea from Pioneer Woman.  What are your go to deserts for international nights?

 

Layers of milk products
Layers of milk products
Leave a Reply

