Vacation

There are times when people need vacations. Yes, this still happens with Mommies. Yes, even Mommies who “don’t work”. It can be the hardest thing to admit. That you need an extended break from your beautiful children. I’m super Mom. I do everything from cooking to managing schedules of the entire family. Super Mom’s don’t need to take breaks, after all isn’t that one of their super powers? To admit that I can’t do something is not my strong suit. To admit that I may have to take a vacation without my dear HD or two bundles of joy was not easy, at first. After the idea was brought up it became more and more apparent that it was time to hang up the super suit for a few days. By 10 days out I was ecstatic for my little trip even though we hadn’t firmly agreed on it.

This was before I rearranged everything to fit. I'm not sure how I pulled it off,
This was before I rearranged everything to fit. I’m not sure how I pulled it off,

While I was at it I decided to knock something out on my bucket list. I took a train ride. A wonderfully, horrible 12 hour train ride. I managed to pack everything, including 22 diapers and inserts, into a carry on bag and a backpack. My boys dropped me off and my adventure began. This trip was going to include cloth diaper shopping, multiple target trips, Arby’s, Olive Garden, Malls, farmer’s market, car seat shopping and whatever else we could get into.

Waiting to board the train
Waiting to board the train

The train ride was gorgeous. We got to see several moose, just as many swans, and even a lone caribou. Views of the landscape that you don’t get to see if you drive were spectacular. I am continually amazed by the area we live in.

So many creeks and rivers to be seen!
So many creeks and rivers to be seen!

Today we drove to the next town over and ate lunch at Arby’s. Yes, Arby’s is a big deal because it is not available where I live. We also found the cloth diaper store down here and got to check out several cloth diapers and even buy some. Next time we come I will be bringing diapers to sell to them and that makes me even more excited! JoAnne’s held more fabric than we had sen at any of the other stores we had been in. We found the most adorable fabric to use to make stuff for my little Pirate M.  No trip to see my friend in complete without at least one stop at Target, daily. This one was a NEW target! SCORE!

Planning out a blanket for Pirate M
Planning out a blanket for Pirate M

No these aren’t things that would not be done if I had to bring the kids with me. We still would have done every single one of them. It is nice (GASP!) to be able to do it without wrangling Big M and hauling Little M and working around naps and snacks.

May be we should do this vacation thing more often.

When mommy goes away she gets Tiramisu for dessert!
When mommy goes away she gets Tiramisu for dessert!
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Heather C says:

    I have yet to do this myself but I am long overdo. Cudos to you for making if happen.

    (Stopped by from Mommy A to Z’s blog hop.)

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      It wasn’t easy to make happen but eventually I just had to put my foot down and say that it was going to happen and happen on a specific weekend and just go. Let me know how your weekend goes!

      Like

  2. I haven’t done this yet, but I’m thinking about doing it. This might have convinced me! Your train ride sounds lovely!

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      I hope you are able to get some time away! The train ride was absolutely gorgeous and my pictures don’t do it any justice at all. I would highly suggest something scenic like that. I did fly back but it was ALL worth it.

      Like

  3. I agree it’s hard to admit when we need help or a break…but we do. As you said, we have to hang up the cape sometimes and take a breath so we don’t wear out all our super powers. Because behind the cape, is a real woman. Glad you took some,time for yourself and hopefully you can do that more often!

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      I am actually planning another one for the holiday season. Hopefully this will be able to become a regular thing. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  4. I need a break too! Sounds like you had a great time and I hope you enjoyed your little break!

    (Stopped by from Turn it Up Tuesday)

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      Everyone needs a break every now and then. 😀 I did enjoy it and thank you for stopping by. I hope you get one soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

