Getting to Know You

Recently my friend and cousin have done a getting to know you tag on youtube and a 30-day writing challenge. This got me thinking that maybe I should jump on the bandwagon and do something similar. I googled and searched pinterest and while I found several ideas I didn’t find anything that really struck a chord with me. I was eventually led to Oprah.com and a getting to know you list of questions.

Everyone likes Oprah, right? Well, for the most part. Either way I liked these questions more than some of the other lists out there. So to kick off my blogging challenge with a customized list, here is my “Get to Know You” post.

 

  • Who was your favorite celebrity as a child?

This would depend on what time in my life you were talking about. Go back too far and the answer would be Barney. If we are looking for someone real life then the first one I can remember is Kristi Yamaguchi and Michelle Kwan. Can you tell I was huge into ice skating when I was young? Took lessons and had the posters and even an imitation of the necklace Michelle wore.

  • What type of pets do you have?

Currently we have one dog. Before that we had a cat. When we first got married we had two cats. Growing up I had a variety of mice, fish, and a hamster that should have been named Houdini. After this current pet passes I have vowed for no more PETS. No Big M’s service dog does not fall under this. Just family pets. Ever since getting married we have had the WORSE luck with animals. The first two cats, one had an eating disorder and the other PTSD. Then we got the sweetest little thing who wouldn’t attack my child. Until she become the royal evil witch of the north. She thought that she was queen of everything and developed a dislike for my son. Now our dog is just getting old fast. She is now special needs and a senior and her days are severely numbered. So hard to watch especially when she was abused and neglected before we got her.

  • What is your favorite color?

If you go by my clothes it is blue. I usually say green. In all honesty I think it is just cool colors in general. I gravitate towards the purples and greys as well.

  • What is most memorable about your high school years?

Ummmm, everything? I went to a private boarding school (not catholic). I had experiences that not everyone can boast. Gatherings by the fire pit, weekends with all the dorm girls at one house, late night board game sessions with the guy’s deans, fire drills at 1 AM in the snow. They all made for an extremely memorable year. As much as I hated it while I was going through it when I look back on it all I wouldn’t trade it for the world. All the struggles and tears were worth it. It all made me who I am today and got me to where I am today.

  • What word describes you best?

Ok, I’ll admit that I couldn’t answer this one and I had to phone a friend, or two. My lovely HD is horrible at this kind of question as well. He couldn’t answer it. So I turned to a friend and she said “determined”. I guess I could see where she got that!

  • What is your greatest accomplishment?

Graduating high school? completing some college? getting married? having kids? joining the military? How can you pick one? My greatest accomplishment is my life. There is no one thing that is better than the others. When I was asked in high school what I wanted to be when I grew up my answer was this “A Child”.  My greatest accomplishment would be fulfilling that.

  • What drives you every day?

As much of a canned answer as this is, it is my children. Especially with Big M being special needs. Our world revolves around him. Of course we can’t let him know that. So we have to revolve around him without him knowing that it revolves around him. Little M is the one who gets me out of bed every morning though. He is such a ham. I’m not sure how we squeezed so much personality and spunk into one little guy but we did and things are so quiet without him. Between Big M and Little M I fear for the teenage years already. They give me nightmares and make me cry at night. I also can’t wait to see what Pirate M decides to throw into the mix.

  • What is your favorite food?

SPAGHETTI!! Yes, my favorite restaurant is the Spaghetti Factory. I could just about live off of the stuff.

  • Where do you want to retire?

A part of me wants to return to the Pacific Northwest but in all honesty, I don’t know. I guess we will see once that time comes.

  • What is your business goal this year?

To not own a business. I have done the home consultant stuff and worked and all that jazz. I have the t-shirt now to move on.

  • Where do you like to vacation?

Everywhere. No seriously. I don’t have a favorite spot because I love to travel to new places and see different things.

  • Who do you admire?

My brother Christopher. He is a game developer, writer, artist, and a stay-at-home-dad. He is working on multiple games and books all while keeping up with the cleaning and cooking and kids.

  • What is your mission?

Seriously? What kind of question is this? my mission in what, life? With my kids? My marriage? What is yours?

  • If you were invisible, where would you go?

A boy’s locker room. Oh wait, I’ve been in one before when ours was being remodeled. I don’t think I want to ever do that again. There have been many times I wish I could be a fly on the wall in the room but nothing that really stands out a whole ton.

  • What traits in others are you attracted to?

Well, anyone who will put up with me and continue to be my friend past 6 months is a winner in my book!

  • What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you?

I would have to say that HD takes the cake here. He married me. He is still married to me. I have actually heard that some didn’t think he would last with my crazy, emotional-ness. They were surprised he stuck around. Guess I picked a good one after all!

  • How do you want to be remembered?

For being myself. Not being pushed over or a carbon copy. I don’t want to be remembered for being like this celebrity or that other person.

  • What would you do with a million dollars?

A service dog and retirement fund. I don’t want my kids to have to support me for as long as possible so some wise investing might be in the cards.

  • If you were on an island, who would you want to be with? Why?

A party. The more the merrier. Besides a generic island is too ambiguous. I need more details. Like are we the last people on earth? Are we on a jungle island? These details are important.

  • You have a 10 minute speech to give at a high school, what is it about?

I gave an 8 minute speech about the platypus in high school. I’m sure I could have easily added another 2 minutes to that one.

Leave a Reply

