Julep Welcome Box

Julep box
Julep box

A little while ago I stumbled across another beauty box subscription. This company does their own makeup and even sell some of the nail polish colors in Sephora. I had a code to get a welcome box for free and I only had to pay shipping which was $2.99.  The shipping time from Julep (this link does contain a referral code for me so that I get credit if you sign up) was a little wonky. They shipped with DHL and then final delivery by USPS. At first I didn’t get a shipping e-mail but when I contacted them by e-mail concerning this they got me a shipping e-mail right away. The delivery date on the Julep site and the delivery date on USPS did not match. In fact they were off by about a week.

Inside Julep box
Inside Julep box

I was told in my initial e-mail conversation that they would process my cancellation of the subscription but that never did happen. If you call into the company and press the menu option to cancel your subscription they prompt you to leave a voice message for a return call. I never got the return call. I called again and selected the option for shipping and received help within 10 minutes of placing the phone call.  The lady was competent and very nice about helping me figure out what was going on with the shipping. (No one knew what was going on) She also was able to help me with my account. Normally you have to earn or save up for opportunities to skip month and opt out of receiving a box. I was new and had not earned a box skip yet but instead of just cancelling my subscription she gave me a free box skip. This was because USPS said I wasn’t getting my box before the next box would have been sent out. They understood that before I paid for another box I wanted to be able to try out the products.

Julep box contents
Julep box contents

My box arrived EARLY! In the end it arrived within the time frame that had been listed on the Julep e-mail rather than the quoted delivery date from USPS. It was small and pink and the cutest thing ever. Inside was a dual sided eyeliner, sharpener, lip gloss and 3 nail polishes. The bottle of the lip gloss looks fire engine red. The swatches on my hand looked hot pink. On my lips it was just a little too much color for me. I wore it the one day and that was it. To me I looked like I had hooker lips in gloss form versus lipstick. The lip gloss was also very sweet otherwise it wasn’t too sticky and lasted for a good length of time during the day.

Julep nail polish colors
Julep nail polish colors

I also tried the eyeliner that same day. It went on so easy and smooth without needing much pressure at all. The only downside is that I am sensitive to an unknown ingredient in eye makeup and apparently Julep eyeliner has the ingredient. No more using that eyeliner for me, sadly. I really did like it. The nail polishes are true to color and go on very well. After two coats I had a great solid color that was true to the bottle. I received baby blue, navy blue and fire engine red colors in full sizes. Right now the picture on the website shows a white instead of the baby blue along with two different beauty products if you choose to try out the welcome box. I can not say what the other beauty products are like since I received the lip gloss and eye liner and have not tried a box with them yet.

Julep eyeliner and sharpener
Julep eyeliner and sharpener

While the nail polish is 5-free and has pretty good reviews the beauty products haven’t gotten the best of reviews so if we do decide to go with a box I will be choosing the option that gives me 3 nail polish colors. The other options give you 2 nail polishes and 1 beauty product. A new thing for Julep is for you to be able to switch out products in your boxes for free as well as pick add-on’s to include in your box for an additional charge. You can make a one for one trade if there is a different color that you like better than what was given for your chosen beauty style. This does take the surprise out of the subscription boxes but in the end I am so picky about colors that I actually like the idea. For the month of July if I had gotten the box there was only one color in my beauty style that I liked. The other two would have gone to my friend.

Julep lipgloss
Julep lipgloss

The welcome box with Julep is more than worth it even if you hate the beauty products. Who can beat $1 each for good nail polish?! The subscription box at $24.99 a month seems to be worth it as well. If you choose the 3 nail polish color box that makes each polish $8.33 and the polish retails for $14 each. The add-on colors if you want more than 3 colors were only $5 each if my memory is correct.

**I received no compensation for this review. The thoughts are my own honest opinion of the products and customer service.**

Leave a Reply

