Maxi Skirt

Sewing the waistband onto the skirt
Sewing the waistband onto the skirt

Some days I can get pretty focused and get a lot done. This project was the result of one of those days. Of course the day started out trying to organize and clean up my craft corner. That never happened. I dug out this project that was left over from last summer when I thought about being crafty again. That was the same summer that I started wearing more feminine clothes and made a commitment to dressing more conservatively. The versatility of the maxi skirt made it an easy choice to replace some of my other skirts.

My friend (cause she is just awesome) had seen a tutorial for a maxi skirt that just used your favorite store bought skirt as a pattern. All you had to do was lay out the favorite skirt on your fabric. Cut out around it leaving a little extra room for seam allowances and then sew together! Voila an easy maxi skirt. My skirt has a fold down waist band to help keep it up.

Completed maxi skirt
Completed maxi skirt

To assemble you sew right sides together, up the side seams of the skirt and hem the bottom as desired. Sew the sides of the waistband together. Slide the waistband over the skirt and line up with the top of the skirt. Fold the bottom edge of the waistband up and pin all three layers together. Be sure that the waistband and skirt match up and one isn’t excessively larger than the other. This is where I messed up so I can attest to the NEED of doing this. Sew the three layers together. Flip the skirt right side out and try it on.

I do have to thank my amazing mother-in-law for helping me with the waistband part. She wrote out directions after assembling a skirt for me last summer. If you try this out be sure to post in the comments so we can check it out! I love being able to see how others take on similar projects.

Leave a Reply

