Christmas Pillow Cases

In a fit of a shopping spree last summer I found some Christmas fabric in the clearance section of Joanne’s. I had a light bulb moment and texted HD right away. He of course did not share in my excitement but consented to the idea and fabric choices. Needless to say the fabric was not put to use that summer or even by Christmas last year. This summer I came across it in cleaning out my craft supplies and have been determined to actually sew them up.

Rick rack, thread and fabric to make 6 pillowcases
Rick rack, thread and fabric to make 6 pillowcases

After asking in my mommy group on Facebook how they did pillowcases I ended up just finding a spare pillow and winging it.

Sewing up the hem and rick rack
Sewing up the hem and rick rack

I had 2 yards of fabric and cut them in half. The width of the pillowcase was whatever the width of the fabric was. Each half would make one pillowcase. after folding the fabric in half hot dog style with right sides together, I sewed up the bottom edge and the long side, leaving the top open. I stuffed the pillow inside and decided how big of a hem I wanted. I sewed the hem, added rick rack for a little, whimsy touch and to break up the fabric a bit. Voila! Pillow cases. Super quick and easy Christmas gifts.

 

Leave a Reply

