Super Mario Vinyl Canvas Collage

Super Mario Vinyl Canvas Collage

I found at Target, these awesome wall vinyls. They are perfect for LittleM’s room. The only problem is that we move every so often. In fact, we are planning on moving within the next year. Granted the vinyls are only $15 for the package but that will be $15 wasted in less than a year because the vinyls will have to come down and from past experience, they really don’t go back up. Even the ones that advertise being reusable. They don’t stick very well the second time around and I wasn’t willing to just throw these away in a year.

One day while wandering through Joanne’s I got an idea. What if I made the vinyls into something like what BigM had hanging in his room? We found canvas paintings for his room that were striped with a vehicle over top. I could easily paint the background of some canvas and then modge podge the vinyls onto the canvas to help them stick. Better yet, Joanne’s has value packs of canvas that I could buy with a 50% off coupon and make this project SUPER cheap compared to buying something similar off of Etsy. This way we could arrange them in different ways and create our own collage while still being able to reuse them through multiple moves and kiddos.

Vinyl1 WM

What I did was very simple. A pack of wall vinyls from Target, a super pack of canvas from Joanne’s, and a bottle of modge podge. I cut out the vinyls still attached to the paper so that I could arrange them how I wanted to on the canvas before sticking them down. Once I was satisfied with the arrangement I exposed the sticky and stuck the vinyls down. They really don’t stick to canvas at all. I got them to stick enough to not move around a lot until I could modge podge them down. I did apply 3 layers of modge podge and brushed it on in a variety of directions so that all the nooks and crannies were filled and glued and not going anywhere.

Now I know these pictures show that there are no stripes or zig zags or fun background designs on them. That’s because I forgot to paint the canvas before I glued everything down and I didn’t feel like pulling them up to paint and then re-glue everything. I considered painting around the pictures and still might but for now we are leaving them as they are and calling it good. Mostly because I have a TON of craft projects left to do on top of appointments and delivering a baby and what not.

Vinyl WM

My plan is to do something similar for BigM with some fabric pieces I had cut out to be wall decorations. Originally those were supposed to be homemade wall stickies but we just never got around to trying and frankly the more I think about it the more I don’t want to try it because we are in a rental and don’t currently own an iron. I hate to risk walls I don’t own and an iron I don’t own.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Stephanie Ann says:

    I really love this! My son would love it 🙂

    Also, just wanted to tell you that I nominated you for a Liebster award!

    For more info check out my blog http://myworldasmommy.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/liebster-award/

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      Thank you so much for the honor! I apologize it took so long for me to respond and pass on the love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

