Hawaiian Macaroni Salad

Hawaiian Macaroni Salad

This dish brings back some long forgotten, rather dusty memories of my childhood. Something about plate lunches on the weekends or in the parks, most often bought from food trucks. My more recent memories of this particular dish are from visiting Hawaiian restaurants whenever we could find them. The plate would be some sort of meat, white rice and macaroni salad.  I like to have some sort of Guava juice with it.

The dish is actually quite easy to make up and has several variations depending on what you like and where you learned your recipe from. I make a very basic version.

I don't have a picture of the dish but I did dig up this treasure from when I lived in Hawaii
I don’t have a picture of the dish but I did dig up this treasure from when I lived in Hawaii

Ingredients

  • 1-2 cups Mayonnaise  NOTE: It must be real mayonnaise You can try versions of mayonnaise (olive oil  etc.) but miracle whip won’t turn out.
  •  1 cup matchstick cut carrots or shredded carrots
  • white or yellow onion to taste
  • 1 lb macaroni
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Cook your macaroni and let it cool completely in the refrigerator
  2. Mix mayonnaise and macaroni in large bowl. Start with 1 cup and add more as needed for taste and to get coat all the noodles.
  3. Add carrots. If needed, shred first.
  4. Grate white or yellow onion into the mixture. This part is very important as well. To get the best tasting dish grating them onion in is the way to go.
  5. Stir everything together and salt to taste.
  6. You can add hard boiled egg or sea food as well if you prefer.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Limeade Gal says:

    Hi!
    I love macaroni salad, plate lunches & guava juice! I didn’t realize you grew up in Hawaii! This post made me kinda homesick, but it is so awesome to find another from back home 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      Whenever I find a HawAiian restaurant I get a plate lunch and Hawaiian sun juice can. I go out of my way sometimes!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

