Homemade Meatloaf

We are getting into that time of the year where comfort foods become mandatory. At least in my area we are! Temperatures have dropped and the rain has come. All too soon it will be snow. We have already broke out the soup recipes and are looking at hearty casseroles and other good warm winter type foods.  For me that means bringing out the cookbook my mommy made for me when I moved out of the house. She included many of my favorite foods. Of course most of them are good ole fashioned casseroles and roasts.  It also contains all the recipes for sweets that I like to make during the holidays.  During the year it has a spot on the bookshelf with the rest of my recipes but during the hard winter and holiday it find a permanent spot on the counter.

I still get homesick at times so it is nice to have that little piece of my family.  One of our family favorites is meatloaf. We often make it with fake meat but also make it with ground beef. It’s something so simple to make. I love it!

 

1 lb ground beef

4 eggs

2 cups bread cubes

1 cup diced onion

1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

1 cup cheese

1 cup ketchup

1 tablespoon brownsugar

 

This step is critical so don’t skip it. Saute onions and bread cubes together.

Mix together ground beef, eggs, seasoning, cheese and saute mixture.

Spray a baking dish and fill with meat mixture.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Mix together ketchup and brown sugar pour evenly on top of meatloaf.

Cook meatloaf for another 10-15 minutes until bubbly.

 

Leave a Reply

