Calling in the Cavalry

We all know how hard to admit that the super-mom cape is a little beat up, worn out and magic-less. Despite our best efforts we need help. No one wants to admit that they can’t do it all. I am Momy. I can cook, bake, clean, school, play, craft, blog, chauffeur and even play doctor on a daily basis. Oh and let’s not forget personal assistant and volunteer for the local community. I can do all of this on little to no sleep.

Cue the reality check. Clean up on aisle 4, we have a blubbering momy curled up in the corner about to inhale all the chocolate within reach.  Yep, I do believe that is a little closer to what is going on right now. All while a 4 year old asks what’s wrong and tells the other two that Momy is sad, an 18 month old grabs anything in reach and screeches when he can no longer reach anything and a 1 month old squeaks and moans in his car seat occasionally crying out when he is disturbed by a big brother.

With BigM I had help before he was born and I had help after he was born, family came to visit that time. With LittleM I had the help of a parent support person who came every week and wasn’t afraid to get her hands dirty helping me to unpack, do dishes or yell at our unwelcome house guest. Now here I am with PirateM. I got a weeks worth of dinner provided by HD’s work but after that we were on our own. That’s okay though because this is my third baby! We are experts by now. This is easy. Yes, in the land of dancing daises and unicorns. Where pink and purple fluffy teddy bears spit out sparkly rainbows.

I took the next step towards help. I admitted I needed help and then called someone to help me. I even went as far as to BEG them to come stay with us right away. Thankfully she has been needing a little bit of a grand baby fix and we are the only ones who can fulfill that need. Yep, I called in the cavalry and had my momy-in-law come for a visit. She is here to entertain the boys while I get back on top of things and get some me time to just take care of myself. It may seem a little drastic to get some “me” care but sometimes drastic is needed. This was one of those times.

She knows where I have been, having had 3 kids close together herself, and understands struggling to stay on top of getting out of bed let alone anything else. She helped me to recognize postpartum depression and get things back on track to staying healthy during it. As hard as it was to admit that I needed help it was the best thing I could have done.

Don’t be afraid to ask for help. It may take one or two tries but don’t stop trying to get help. It can be the best thing you do not only for yourself but your children as well.

What do you need help with?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. maniacmom808 says:

    Excellent post! Loved it! I’ve found myself in the same position from time to time. I usually find myself curled up in the liquor store though. Lol.

    Keep up the good work Super Mommy! Remember, even Superman had a weakness, but you look better in his outfit!

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      I can’t wait to be closer to family and be able to take more sanity breaks. I can’t do liquor right now but have been chugging cherry coke like its water and stalking walmart for the pumpkin marshmallows.

      Thank you for the encouragement to get help. It took a little longer but I did it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

