2 Year Birthday Party

LittleM turned TWO earlier this month. I can’t believe my rainbow baby is getting so big. This also means that my cousins kids are getting big too. This is not allowed. I was determined to have some sort of party for LittleM this year. Last year we had a big party planned at a place in town and bunch of people coming and even theme decorated. Right before the party I had a huge pregnancy/depression downswing and just hours before the party cancelled the whole affair. Not one of my more proud moments as a mom.

I kept the birthday party this year small and informal. We had a weekend event though. Friday night LittleM picked where we went to eat and then we rented a movie of his choice to watch at home. Saturday was a small party with friends of the family. We all went bowling together and had cupcakes and presents. Sunday the boys got cupcakes from brunch and a kid favorite meal of hot dogs and homemade mac and cheese for dinner.

I dream of being able to do these amazing themed parties and was close to pulling it off last year for his first birthday. I have learned, the hard way, that it puts too much stress on me. I am jealous of the moms who can pull off amazing parties with great food. Creative invitations, magicians and balloon artists and a band. That isn’t me at this point. Maybe some day soon I will be in a place where I can handle pulling off elaborate parties like that but this isn’t the time. And that’s ok. My kids still had a blast going bowling and honestly, it was nice not spending half a paycheck on party stuff.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lilypup says:

    I have a bipolar behavior toward parties. When I feel good, I pull off the most beautiful things. When I am down, I am in bed at Christmas dinner, crying. It’s hard on the family. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. homemademomy says:

      I know how it can feel. Chin up. You aren’t alone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

