Sickness

**Nothing on this site is meant to provide or replace medical advice. Please consult with your physician if you have any healthcare concerns.**

While attempting to come up with a creative title for this I had the lyrics to a Disturbed song running through my head. I refused to title this post after that song. Even though the title would have fit our situation VERY well. Lets have a quick recap.

Just before LittleMs birthday he was in urgent care for suspected pink eye. We still aren’t sure what exactly he had as his eyes never got super bad and cleared up with out the eye drops that I had forgotten at the pharmacy counter. As LittleM kicked it PirateM caught it. By the end of the weekend they were both doing fine except for a night time cough. I was starting to get sick but didn’t think it was anything too bad. Monday we had a big, busy day. Tuesday I was so sick that Homemade Dady had to come home early to take care of everyone because I couldn’t even move. Wednesday the same deal. Around this time PirateM got sick again with, what seemed to be, the same thing I had had with another possible round of pink eye.

This last weekend was miserable. PirateM was having nothing of anyone or anything. Earlier this week his cough got worse. Then LittleM developed a high fever. Did I mention the three of us have been falling apart the past couple of weeks? Well on Wednesday we took the two sick boys to the doctor. LittleM just has a virus, hopefully. PirateM, poor kid got hit hard. He has a double ear infection with a ruptured ear drum. When we heard that I threw my hands up and we pulled out the big guns. All drops and medicine offered to us, we took.

I am still trying to fight off the last remnants of my sickness and I was done messing with cranky, fussy babies who couldn’t sleep if they could give him something to help. Oh yes I know. It’s not homemade and it’s not natural blah, blah, blah. Call me selfish but I’m done with these sleepless nights because he wants to nurse and does for a bit but then screams out and rips off my nipple and no one can figure out what is wrong. It will also be nice to be able to put him to sleep how we have been in the past. We have been and will continue to boost the western medicine with other things like essential oils and elderberry syrup. By the way, we are doing so with the blessing of our pediatrician. Have I mentioned how much I love our doctors office?

My sick bag has been replenished with eucalyptus, lavender, rosemary, cinnamon bark, lemon, clove bud, spruce, peppermint and tea tree oils. In addition we have noodle soup in chicken broth because we don’t have any homemade yet, elderberry syrup, lemon juice, honey, raw honey, Vicks, socks and a diffuser.

What are your go to tricks for getting over sickness?

 

**Nothing on this site is meant to provide or replace medical advice. Please consult with your physician if you have any healthcare concerns.**

Leave a Reply

