Container Gardening

This is a topic that has interested me for several years now. Mostly because our housing complex has funny rules about digging large areas. Second reason is because you can’t plant in ground to start where we live. You have to start in containers and then possibly transfer to in ground. This is also a good option for those who live in apartments or places with no or little yard space.

I am not able to do a garden this year but in the past I would get the starter containers that are able to be planted into larger containers. This way I am not over buying large containers and can easily pass some on to friends if I end up with too many for my porch to handle.  Right now is the time to get those starters going if you want  a good summer season. Make sure to do your research because some plants don’t do as well in lots of light where others will be fine.

The list of what I have tried is long and wide. Some that I want to try in the future include a dwarf banana plant. I have tried broccoli, sweet peppers, melons, squash, zucchini and probably more that I am not remembering. I also had a self watering herb garden with basil, thyme, rosemary, cat nip and chives. Some other common plants to grow in containers include strawberries, green beans, peas, and tomatoes.

When you get started the most important thing to remember is to have a pot large enough to handle the roots.  Oh and don’t forget to water them. Pinterest has some great pins on what plants can be grown in containers and I think the answers might surprise you. That is if my banana plant didn’t already surprise you.

What sorts of fresh produce do you want to grow in your garden? Do you have a container garden or a garden bed?

Leave a Reply

