BabyM Baby Shower

I haven’t talked about my new job much. There really isn’t anything special or spectacular to say about it. Ok, there is one thing; they are amazing about being family friendly. I felt bad for my manager because he ended up with two pregnant women on his team who were going to be gone back to back. My co-worker has been back for only a week or two and I will be on maternity leave soon.

One of the ways they try to be supportive is by holding a shower for anyone who has a new addition joining the family. They send around a card and do a money collection to create a pool of money to buy gifts. My manager loves to shop and so he asked my co-worker and me for a registry to shop from. Then on the day of the shower he orders pizza to be delivered and we have a long lunch. Since my co-worker didn’t know what she was having they guessed the gender and then for both of us they also guessed the length, weight and date of actual delivery.

We have delivery date guesses that span 37 weeks to 40 weeks. No guessed that I would go over date though. I found that interesting. The guesses for the birth weight ranged from 6 pounds 9 ounces to 9 pounds 8 ounces and the length ranged from 18.5 inches to 21.5 inches. For reference the doctor suspects she may be early because of my history of having early full term babies. The ultrasound tech who did my last ultrasound said that baby was pretty average in weight so between 7 and 8 pounds at birth but was measuring long around 21 inches at birth. Those were all guesses as well but still I think they hold some merit.

For gifts they got me a onesie set, two packs of swaddle blankets, 2 packs of bottles, a princess bib and a box of microwave sterilize bags. I am super excited about the bottles we got two brands of bottles to try and will get one more box of whichever BabyM likes best. They got me Tommee Tippee bottles and they got Como Tomo bottles. I honestly am not sure which ones I am most excited about right now! We have a new approach with bottles cleaning this time around. We aren’t putting them in the dishwasher. This is why we have the sterilizing bags for the nipples.

Seeing the office come together and relax and talk about babies was a nice break from the daily grind. I am very thankful to have found such an amazing work place.

Leave a Reply

