Apartment Fire Safety

The apartment complex we now live in is, interesting. Not my first choice of places to be living but we can put up with it for now until things settle down. Being in this complex allows us to keep BigM in one of the best school districts in the state. I can put up with a lot for that.

 

Almost nightly we are serenaded by smoke alarms going off. They are usually just the individual unit smoke detectors but three times, in our very short stay, they have been the building fire alarms. I very quickly realized that I didn’t know what to do with 4 small kids, in the middle of the night. So I contacted a nearby fire department and scheduled a visit with the little kids.

 

They took the little boys and I on a tour of all the fire engines and rescue vehicles in the garage. We got to see the equipment they carry and even got to climb in some of the trucks! I then got to talk to the firefighters about the best way to handle a fire alarm going off at night with the kids. Once we got home I got to practice getting out and to our “safe spot” with the older two boys.

It was a good outing that helped calm my anxiety and let the boys become comfortable around the firefighters and equipment. Have you set up a fire safety plan?

Leave a Reply

